Oil leakage

Derek

Zorg Addict
British Zeds
Scottish Zeds
Afternoon all. Had a progressive oil leak for the past week or so. Got under the car today and gave the oil a good cleaning. Left it an hour or so and this is where I think the oil leak is. .. sorry for crap photo and probably completely newbie question but where and what is this haha

Once again thanks very much for any help given and sorry for the newbie ness haha

Bozzy

Zorg Guru (V)
Supporter
British Zeds
Model of Z
3 2.8
Afternoon all. Had a progressive oil leak for the past week or so. Got under the car today and gave the oil a good cleaning. Left it an hour or so and this is where I think the oil leak is. .. sorry for crap photo and probably completely newbie question but where and what is this haha

Once again thanks very much for any help given and sorry for the newbie ness haha
I'm no mechanic but could it be something as simple as the 'o'ring on the oil filter housing cap ?
Oil,like water has a habit of showing it's self away from the source of the leak ?

jonco

Zorg Guru (IV)
Supporter
British Zeds
The M44 Massive
Model of Z
'98 1.9 Auto
If it's the filter cap O ring then you should be able to see it leaking quite easily by wiping around and running engine.
I would suggest it is more likely to be the the filter housing to block joint (which becomes brittle with age) is more difficult to see where leak is actually from.
Which model do you actually have? I recall @Cooper recently re-jointed his on a 6 pot and I have some pics of my 4 pot that may help?

Edit https://zroadster.org/threads/help-plz-torque-for-oil-filter-housing-bolts.8352/

Cooper

Zorg Guru (IV)
Supporter
Australian Zeds
Model of Z
3.0i 2001
If you need some help with the oil leak I can give you the procedure for changing the oil housing gasket.

Derek

Zorg Addict
British Zeds
Scottish Zeds