Strut Brace/Poly bushes etc - worthy upgrades?

BobKen74

British Zeds
Model of Z
2.8i
Afternoon all, hail, rain and driving rain in Lancashire today which often gets me thinking about additions/improvements to my pride and joy.

I am a complete novice in all things mechanical and maintenance so bear with me!

Will a top strut brace from a 3 series fit my Z3 as the ones sold a a specific for the Z3 seem a lot more expensive. I have the 6 cylinder 2.8l wide body so it would be the straight brace type. Is this a worthy upgrade in people’s opinion?

Also looking at under bracing and poly bushes.

Looking to sharpen things up ready for the ‘summer’ and reduce the scuttle shake, rattle and roll.

All thoughts welcome!!

Thanks

RobK

t-tony

Zorg Expert (II)
Supporter
British Zeds
#ZedShed
Model of Z
E89 Z4 23i Auto
The strut you have will fit, until you try to close the bonnet. Then you will discover the difference. I made one for a 3 series fit my 2000 Z3 2.0 (6 Cyl ). Quite simple and easy to do.

Tony.

GazHyde

Administrator
Administrator
Global Moderator
M Power
Model of Z
Z4 MR
replacing 20 odd year old bushes with stock rubber ones will help a lot.
100% this ^

If you haven’t replaced or checked every suspension component you’re just decreasing your power to weight ratio with shiny things. No shame in fitting shiny things if You fancy but thats all they are ;)

Delk

Zorg Guru (II)
British Zeds
Model of Z
Z3 2.8 real widebody
All depends what you are doing.
Just driving refreshed rubber is fine. But polybushes are easier to fit.
Polybushes are a little stiffer. My misses is fully bushed and is still nice.
Mine is more on the extreme side. Fully bushed, stiff coilovers and wide rubber. The strut brace was noticable on bumpy Norfolk roads but maybe not so much on standard suspension.

Nodzed

Zorg Expert (I)
Supporter
British Zeds
M Power
Model of Z
Z3M Imola and Z4 (e89)
A full re-bush will transform the car, strut brace, for normal driving its bling. :thumbsup: