Emissions Issues Z3 1.9 1998

Miffysmith

Hi all

Looking for some advice, please.

(PS. i'm not a mechanic, so go easy on the terminology lol!)

Car is struggling to meet emissions requirements. I've changed the plugs, cleaned the air filter, and dosed the fuel with an injector cleaner... still, to no avail.

I believe the Cat is quite new, but need to check.

She splutters a little on tick-over, so could it be the leads to the plugs (are these high tension leads)?

If anyone could recommend any other areas that could be contributing, that would be much appreciated.

Thanks all

Jonathan

t-tony

Zorg Expert (II)
Supporter
British Zeds
#ZedShed
Model of Z
E89 Z4 23i Auto
Post a picture of the emissions fail certificate then we can see why it failed the test. Without that anyone is simply guessing Jonathan.

Tony.

Andyboy

Zorg Guru (I)
The 'new cat' is a good place to start. The new aftermarket ones are generally garbage and just don't work. The problem with four cylinder E36 stuff is that the cat is too far away from the manifold and struggles to get hot enough. It's been suggested to wrap it in heat resistant exhaust wrap - that might help. The engine running perfectly, some cat cleaner and a proper 5000 rpm+ blast to get it as hot as possible is about as good as you can get. Post up a pic of the converter and we'll know what it is.

Miffysmith

Hi all, and thank you for the help, much appreciated.

As I know the mechanic, he kept persevering in order to get her under the limit, but as it was close and I don't want that stress again, I'd like to spend the next 12 months before MOT time again to get a more comfortable result.

The HC and Lambda values were ok, it was the Co2 that caused the worry.

Pic of the exhaust system, attached.

I'm being told to consider the following:

* HT Leads (never had to purchase these before... was not expecting to see the prices lol!... if anyone has any links to a quality option that will fit, much appreciated).

* Coil pack