Welcome to ZRoadster.org - BMW Z1 Z4 Z8 Z3 Forum and Technical Database

If you want to join in with the discussion, and see the areas which are available only to members then sign up now!

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wireless

Discussion in 'Computer & Technical Discussion' started by hard top, Nov 28, 2012.

  1. hard top

    hard top Zorg Expert (I)
    Dutch Zeds The M44 Massive

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    20,779
    Likes Received:
    6,064
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Netherlands
    OK, you IT bods, here is a another one for you.

    My HP Pavilion will no longer let me go wireless...... X(

    Connect using [Intel(R)PRO/Wireless LAN 2100 3B] [Configure]
    Tried that, nothing.

    Choose a wireless network.
    Obviously tried that but get this...
    Windows cannot configure this wireless connection.
    If you have enabled another program to manage this wireless connection, use that software.

    Brilliant.......... b-(
     
  2. GazHyde

    GazHyde The Gaz Monkey
    Staff Member Administrator Global Moderator British Zeds

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    15,210
    Likes Received:
    9,349
    Trophy Points:
    226
    Location:
    Newbury, Berkshire
    Model of Z:
    BMW Z4 3.0Si Sport
    You don't mention which version of Windows, so this will be guess work!

    You must have another program installed, most likely listed under "Intel wireless something or other" which is the software controller for your wireless config. If you install the software from Intel it overrides the inbuilt windows mallarkey.

    Have a look through your programs and see if anything matches that description. Otherwise, if you look at the little icons in the lower right corner next to the clock, it may be one of those. Hover over each one until the little balloon text explains what its for.
     
  3. hard top

    hard top Zorg Expert (I)
    Dutch Zeds The M44 Massive

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    20,779
    Likes Received:
    6,064
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Sorry, XP on a seven year old but at the time, very expensive laptop.

    Now trying this....

    To start the Wireless Zero Configuration service, follow these steps:

    1. Click Start, click Run, type %SystemRoot%\system32\services.msc /s, and then click OK.
    2. Double-click Wireless Zero Configuration.
    3. In the Startup type list, click Automatic, and then click Apply.
    4. In the Service status area, click Start, and then click OK.

    Yes, getting 'out of range' impossible or I would not be typing this on the other HP........ X(
     
  4. hard top

    hard top Zorg Expert (I)
    Dutch Zeds The M44 Massive

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    20,779
    Likes Received:
    6,064
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Right, had enough, its FUBAR, so I am going to get one of these....

    Amped Wireless - UA150C IEEE 802.11n (draft) USB - Wi-Fi Adapter

    Hope it works..... :-?
     
  5. board

    board Administrator
    Staff Member Administrator Global Moderator British Zeds M Power

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Location:
    Cuiaba
    Model of Z:
    M Roadster
    As Gaz said it looks like you have some other wireless software managing you wifi, Intel used to do this with software updates sometimes and it makes you use their system instead of the one built in to windows. If you can find the software that is managing the adapter and switch it off then you should get going again.
     
  6. Titan

    Titan Moderator
    British Zeds

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,409
    Likes Received:
    107
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    North North Yorkshire
    Model of Z:
    sDrive35i
    Mike
    I could be way off the mark here but we used to have loads of problems with the WiFi cards in HP lap tops.
    It may have failed causing your loss of connection.
    Unfortunately I no longer have an IT manager to call upon for assistance
    Regards
    T
     
  7. hard top

    hard top Zorg Expert (I)
    Dutch Zeds The M44 Massive

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    20,779
    Likes Received:
    6,064
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hello there T,

    I remember you telling me about that.
    Just nuked the intel software, still no go.
    This thing is just about to go out the window........ X(
     
  8. board

    board Administrator
    Staff Member Administrator Global Moderator British Zeds M Power

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Location:
    Cuiaba
    Model of Z:
    M Roadster
    So once you nuked the intel software can you now control the wireless settings from within the windows settings?
     
  9. hard top

    hard top Zorg Expert (I)
    Dutch Zeds The M44 Massive

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    20,779
    Likes Received:
    6,064
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Netherlands
    ^ No........... X(
     
  10. board

    board Administrator
    Staff Member Administrator Global Moderator British Zeds M Power

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Location:
    Cuiaba
    Model of Z:
    M Roadster
    Something must still be managing it then if you can't enable the windows wireless manager