Welcome to ZRoadster.org - BMW Z1 Z4 Z8 Z3 Forum and Technical Database

If you want to join in with the discussion, and see the areas which are available only to members then sign up now!

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

water level mark

Discussion in 'Z3 Roadster & Coupé' started by robertjones, Sep 22, 2014.

1. robertjones

robertjones Regular Member

on my z , the header tank has no mark to show the level for topping up, can anyone tell me what level i should top up to?, the handbook shows the mark about halfway down the tank, i intend to mark it , notice that the tank has a series of serated marks , would i be right in marking tank half way down the serrations ie about 10 marks down? thanks for any suggestion,

2. upstream

upstream Regular Member
    The M44 Massive

Hi,
    Firstly I should start by saying that I'm a newbie so take whatever I say with a pinch of salt ;-)

When I first picked up my Z about a month ago, I noticed that the coolant seemed to be about half way down the expansion tank. When I got home I thought that I should perhaps top it up. After letting everything cool down for a while I topped it up to the top of the serrations. When I went out for a quick drive and came back there was a little coolant in the undertray and I thought that there must be a leak as the coolant level had dropped to about the 5th serration.

Anyway - to cut a long story short, I decided not to top up again but to keep an eye on it. I haven't seen any more coolant loss and it has been sitting for weeks now at about the 5th or 6th serration. This being the case I'd conclude that this is probably the correct level and that my topping up (overfilling it) was responsible for the leak.

Hopefully someone knowledgeable will be around shortly though to confirm (or not as the case may be).

• Like Like x 1
  3. bonzo

bonzo Guest