RADIO FUSE WOES

Lappintyre

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
28
I did a search but couldnt find what I needed, so here goes.

The Business RDS tape deck in my 98 Z3 had dodgy pixels so I swapped it for a Sony Xplod 4x50w cd player. Got a proper harness and plugged in.

At 1st it worked ok, no radio signal though as it needs a male adapter but I can sort that, I popped a CD in and at 1st it worked, then started blinking, then it stopped. Nothing at all, I checked fuses 9 and 44 but they both are ok.

I then plugged the original head-unit back in and its not working now either!? Are there any other fuses that may cause this, or any suggestions?

Thanks in advance
 

Aceman

Moderator
British Zeds
3rd Party Trader
Joined
Dec 5, 2011
Messages
2,230
Location
Wakefield
Model of Z
///M Roadster
That's a strange one, I am not sure what the fuses are for the radio off hand but are you sure there isn't a trapped wire on the harness as it is pretty tight behind the centre console and when you put the additional length of the ISO adapter on it gets even tighter so could have shorted something without realising. I would systamatically go through all the fuses and check if any are blown also don't forget the fuse in the radion itself which sometimes is inline with the wiring or actually on the back of the head unit.

Just be careful as car radio's are one of the single most causes of car fires and I have witnessed one myself where the entire loom in the car melted with smoke pooring from the speakers in the doors. Not that I want to frighten you but always best to be safe than sorry. ;)
 

Lappintyre

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
28
Thanks Aceman!

I have tried the old head-unit back in also and its not working now either, so must be a short in the car somewhere I should think :-\

Are there any other fuse locations on a 98 UK Z3 other than under the bonnet?
 

Titan

Moderator
British Zeds
Joined
Dec 4, 2011
Messages
1,409
Location
North North Yorkshire
Model of Z
sDrive35i
Lappintyre said:
Are there any other fuse locations on a 98 UK Z3 other than under the bonnet?
AFAIK there is just the one fuse box in the engine bay.
When I swapped my head unit, there was an abundance of wires, adapters and connectors. For both your old and new head units to be non-operational would suggest a wiring fault.
I would remove as many of the adapters that you can and check that there is power in the main harness. You should have both a permanent live and a switched live at the rear of the radio.
There are also a lot of sharp edges on the structural components behind the dashboard which could easily have damaged the wiring.
 

Lappintyre

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
28
Titan said:
Lappintyre said:
Are there any other fuse locations on a 98 UK Z3 other than under the bonnet?
AFAIK there is just the one fuse box in the engine bay.
When I swapped my head unit, there was an abundance of wires, adapters and connectors. For both your old and new head units to be non-operational would suggest a wiring fault.
I would remove as many of the adapters that you can and check that there is power in the main harness. You should have both a permanent live and a switched live at the rear of the radio.
There are also a lot of sharp edges on the structural components behind the dashboard which could easily have damaged the wiring.
Thanks Titan,

So its possible then that when I have pulled the main harness to access it I may have damaged something, There was power going to the original head unit, and for a short time to the new one, but as I said, that just blinked and then cut out, so no power going through the main harness now at all from what I can figure. :-\

I will investigate the wiring best I can, that said, there isnt much, if any slack to pull the original harness through.
 

Macca

Zorg Guru (II)
Supporter
British Zeds
East Anglian Crew
Joined
Dec 5, 2011
Messages
1,064
Location
Wisbech St. Mary
Model of Z
2.5l Msport
There is enough slack to pull the original harness out, put your hand right into the recess and feel around and you will feel another connector block that is usually caught up within the frame work. Free this off and there will be more slack.
 

Titan

Moderator
British Zeds
Joined
Dec 4, 2011
Messages
1,409
Location
North North Yorkshire
Model of Z
sDrive35i
Lappintyre said:
So its possible then that when I have pulled the main harness to access it I may have damaged something, There was power going to the original head unit, and for a short time to the new one, but as I said, that just blinked and then cut out, so no power going through the main harness now at all from what I can figure. :-\
I will investigate the wiring best I can, that said, there isnt much, if any slack to pull the original harness through.
It certainly sounds as though something has been damaged. Although it may "look" OK, in reality the insulation may be intact but the internal wires are fractured.
Any slight movement or re-positiojning of the wires can be sufficient to temporarily re-make the circuit.
You really need a multi-meter fastened to a good earth and a sharp probe to be able to stick through the insulation and into the wire - and lots of patience :-?
 

Lappintyre

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
28
Oh dear :ymblushing:

Who wouldve thought that changing a headunit would become such a task.

Thanks again all!
 

Lappintyre

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
28
Macca said:
There is enough slack to pull the original harness out, put your hand right into the recess and feel around and you will feel another connector block that is usually caught up within the frame work. Free this off and there will be more slack.
Will give it a try! Thanks
 

Lappintyre

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
28
Problem solved (ish)! Car Battery was low/done. Gave it charge and voila it's working, but...............now the car won't start :-*

Looks to be the ews, however I only have 1 key and no fob.

I have read some of the instructions from hardtop and titan but they refer to resetting the key fob.

Any other ways around this?

Can I disarm manually? My key is the old type with no buttons, Only a light!
 

Jamezee

Zorg Guru (III)
British Zeds
Joined
Dec 5, 2011
Messages
1,028
Location
Peak District
Model of Z
2.2 sport
Don't worry about radio fuses, just listen to the engine! :)
 

Jamezee

Zorg Guru (III)
British Zeds
Joined
Dec 5, 2011
Messages
1,028
Location
Peak District
Model of Z
2.2 sport
Top