Welcome to ZRoadster.org - BMW Z1 Z4 Z8 Z3 Forum and Technical Database

If you want to join in with the discussion, and see the areas which are available only to members then sign up now!

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RADIO FUSE WOES

Discussion in 'Z3 Roadster & Coupé' started by Lappintyre, Jan 28, 2013.

  1. Lappintyre

    Lappintyre Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    14
    I did a search but couldnt find what I needed, so here goes.

    The Business RDS tape deck in my 98 Z3 had dodgy pixels so I swapped it for a Sony Xplod 4x50w cd player. Got a proper harness and plugged in.

    At 1st it worked ok, no radio signal though as it needs a male adapter but I can sort that, I popped a CD in and at 1st it worked, then started blinking, then it stopped. Nothing at all, I checked fuses 9 and 44 but they both are ok.

    I then plugged the original head-unit back in and its not working now either!? Are there any other fuses that may cause this, or any suggestions?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Aceman

    Aceman Moderator
    British Zeds 3rd Party Trader

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    707
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Wakefield
    Model of Z:
    ///M Roadster
    That's a strange one, I am not sure what the fuses are for the radio off hand but are you sure there isn't a trapped wire on the harness as it is pretty tight behind the centre console and when you put the additional length of the ISO adapter on it gets even tighter so could have shorted something without realising. I would systamatically go through all the fuses and check if any are blown also don't forget the fuse in the radion itself which sometimes is inline with the wiring or actually on the back of the head unit.

    Just be careful as car radio's are one of the single most causes of car fires and I have witnessed one myself where the entire loom in the car melted with smoke pooring from the speakers in the doors. Not that I want to frighten you but always best to be safe than sorry. ;)
     
  3. Lappintyre

    Lappintyre Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    14
    Thanks Aceman!

    I have tried the old head-unit back in also and its not working now either, so must be a short in the car somewhere I should think :-\

    Are there any other fuse locations on a 98 UK Z3 other than under the bonnet?
     
  4. Titan

    Titan Moderator
    British Zeds

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,409
    Likes Received:
    107
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    North North Yorkshire
    Model of Z:
    sDrive35i
    AFAIK there is just the one fuse box in the engine bay.
    When I swapped my head unit, there was an abundance of wires, adapters and connectors. For both your old and new head units to be non-operational would suggest a wiring fault.
    I would remove as many of the adapters that you can and check that there is power in the main harness. You should have both a permanent live and a switched live at the rear of the radio.
    There are also a lot of sharp edges on the structural components behind the dashboard which could easily have damaged the wiring.
     
  5. Lappintyre

    Lappintyre Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    14
    Thanks Titan,

    So its possible then that when I have pulled the main harness to access it I may have damaged something, There was power going to the original head unit, and for a short time to the new one, but as I said, that just blinked and then cut out, so no power going through the main harness now at all from what I can figure. :-\

    I will investigate the wiring best I can, that said, there isnt much, if any slack to pull the original harness through.
     
  6. Macca

    Macca Zorg Guru (II)
    Supporter British Zeds East Anglian Crew

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    328
    Trophy Points:
    114
    Location:
    Wisbech St. Mary
    Model of Z:
    2.5l Msport
    There is enough slack to pull the original harness out, put your hand right into the recess and feel around and you will feel another connector block that is usually caught up within the frame work. Free this off and there will be more slack.
     
  7. Titan

    Titan Moderator
    British Zeds

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,409
    Likes Received:
    107
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    North North Yorkshire
    Model of Z:
    sDrive35i
    It certainly sounds as though something has been damaged. Although it may "look" OK, in reality the insulation may be intact but the internal wires are fractured.
    Any slight movement or re-positiojning of the wires can be sufficient to temporarily re-make the circuit.
    You really need a multi-meter fastened to a good earth and a sharp probe to be able to stick through the insulation and into the wire - and lots of patience :-?
     
  8. Lappintyre

    Lappintyre Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    14
    Oh dear :ymblushing:

    Who wouldve thought that changing a headunit would become such a task.

    Thanks again all!
     
  9. Lappintyre

    Lappintyre Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    14
    Will give it a try! Thanks
     
  10. Lappintyre

    Lappintyre Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    14
    Problem solved (ish)! Car Battery was low/done. Gave it charge and voila it's working, but...............now the car won't start :-*

    Looks to be the ews, however I only have 1 key and no fob.

    I have read some of the instructions from hardtop and titan but they refer to resetting the key fob.

    Any other ways around this?

    Can I disarm manually? My key is the old type with no buttons, Only a light!
     
  11. Jamezee

    Jamezee Zorg Guru (I)
    British Zeds

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Location:
    Peak District
    Model of Z:
    2.2 sport
    Don't worry about radio fuses, just listen to the engine! :)
     
  12. Lappintyre

    Lappintyre Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    14
    I would if I could get it started :D
     
  13. Jamezee

    Jamezee Zorg Guru (I)
    British Zeds

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Location:
    Peak District
    Model of Z:
    2.2 sport
    Oh dear :(
     
  14. Brian Kaplan

    Brian Kaplan Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    2

Share This Page