How To Guide MOD ..How to Stop the Dirt Getting into Your Sills (Maybe)

Nodzed

Zorg Expert (I)
Supporter
British Zeds
M Power
Model of Z
Z3M Imola and Z4 (e89)
I've been doing some long overdue maintenance on the Titan over the past week in as much I have had the sills and wings off a job I have been putting off for the past two years, firstly to check out the condition and secondly to give everything underneath a darn good clean and several coats of Waxoyl. (other brands of anti-rust products are available ;)) And luckily, no rust on the inner sills and just some surface rust on the inside of the outer, these were replaced with new ones as I had them ready, the old ones will get re-sprayed and go on another members Zed.
The Waxoyl was put on by brush (3 coats drying in between) then a liberal spaying of rattle can Waxoyl.
The arches front & back were also done.
Here's a few pics
20180204_113816.jpg
20180204_113846.jpg
20180204_113858.jpg

OK this isn't a thread about that and I'm not going into any detail about sill removal as there are very informative and helpful threads already posted that can be better utilised. This is about what happened after.

So I'd spent money and time getting this job done, and I would (as I'm sure all other owners who have treated their sills would too) strongly advise all that haven't to get the sills off and treat the underside, it's not a difficult job it just takes a bit of time. It's pretty scary how much muck gets in and sits there rotting your sills from the inside out ..... UNSEEN. So I was saying I had spent time and money doing this but then got to thinking, it's going to happen again, OK I have treated everything but surely there is a way to improve this poor design that BMW has left us all with.

So I thought I'd make some covers that stop the crud getting into the sill via the poor fit of the wheel arch liners, as are two of them on my Zed.
20180210_113414.jpg

And here's what I came up with.

I used;